To protect users’ privacy, WhatsApp will not notify you if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, and vice versa. However, some indicators can help you determine whether you have been blocked on WhatsApp.
- Check the following indicators with the contact you suspected:
- You can't see the contacts' "last seen" timestamp or "online" status.
- The second check mark will not appear when you send a message.
- You won't be able to see the contact's new status updates.
- Instead of their actual profile picture, you can only see a grayed-out display picture.
- Any calls you try to make will be unsuccessful.
- You can't add that contact to a WhatsApp group.
When you examine the following indicators with a person or business contact who you suspect has blocked you on WhatsApp and receive positive responses for all of them, you can determine that they have blocked you on WhatsApp.
Also Read: How to Block a Contact on WhatsApp
Check the following indicators with the contact you suspected:
Examine the indicators listed below one by one to determine whether or not you have been blocked by another user on WhatsApp. It is recommended that you use your Android or iPhone device to do so.
|Indicators||If the contact has blocked you on WhatsApp, you will get this answer.|
|Couldn’t you see the contacts’ “last seen” timestamp or “online” status?||Yes, I couldn’t.|
|Didn’t appear the second check mark when you send a message?||Yes|
|Couldn’t you see the contact’s new status updates?||Yes, I couldn’t.|
|Does a grayed-out display picture appear?||Yes|
|Does every call you make to the contact not go through?||Yes|
|Couldn’t you able add that contact to a WhatsApp group?||Yes, I couldn’t|
You can’t see the contacts’ “last seen” timestamp or “online” status.
You should get a positive result when you check this sign with a blocked contact. However, you can’t decide based solely on this indicator because the other party may choose to hide their “Last Seen” from you in WhatsApp’s privacy settings. Tap this link to learn: How to hide your online status on WhatsApp
The second check mark will not appear when you send a message.
Your WhatsApp message will not be delivered to the person who has blocked you. As a result, you will not see a second gray or green check mark after sending a message, except for a single gray checkmark indicating that your message was sent.
Since the sender won’t be able to see the second gray check mark until the recipient’s device connects to the internet, you can’t draw any conclusions from this alone.
Do You Know? You Can Also Read WhatsApp Messages Without Triggering Blue Ticks To The Sender.
You won’t be able to see the contact’s new status updates.
Status updates from contacts who have blocked you on WhatsApp will not be visible to you. However, WhatsApp users can also hide their status updates from others by using the app’s privacy settings.
Because WhatsApp users can also control who can see their status updates via the WhatsApp privacy settings for status, you must consider all the factors listed above and below to determine whether a contact on WhatsApp has blocked you.
Instead of their actual profile picture, you can only see a grayed-out display picture.
You can’t see the profile picture of the person or business who blocked you on WhatsApp. You will only see a grayed-out version of the contact’s photo instead of the real one.
The profile picture of the contact is hidden from you not only when they block you on WhatsApp but also when they prevent you from viewing it via WhatsApp profile picture privacy settings.
Any calls you try to make will be unsuccessful.
If you have been blocked on WhatsApp by another user, you won’t be able to initiate a call through WhatsApp to communicate with that person. If you call them, the call seems to go through, but it won’t reach their device.
Although blocking you on WhatsApp will prevent them from receiving your calls, there are many other ways to block WhatsApp calls other than blocking a contact on WhatsApp.
In addition, you cannot make phone calls to users whose devices are not connected to the internet.
Because there are many reasons why a WhatsApp call might not go through, we can’t tell from failed calls alone that the person has blocked you on WhatsApp. So, keep looking at the other things on this list as well.
You can’t add that contact to a WhatsApp group.
Try adding suspicious contacts to a WhatsApp group. If you cannot add it, you are most likely blocked on WhatsApp by that person or business.
However, WhatsApp also lets its users control who can add them to a WhatsApp group, which they can do through WhatsApp privacy settings.
So, if a user prevents others from adding them to a WhatsApp group, you can’t add them either. Because of this, you can’t use this as the only way to tell if a WhatsApp contact has blocked you or not.
When you check each of the indicators with a WhatsApp contact and they answer “YES” for all of them, you can be sure that the user has blocked you. However, if you get a negative result for even one of the above indicators, you can conclude that the contact has not blocked you.
Because WhatsApp does not make it obvious to its users that other users have blocked them, this is the only way to determine if another user on WhatsApp has blocked you.